YPW Awards


Our members accomplish amazing things in their professional and personal lives every year. This Founders’ Day awards banquet celebrates the accomplishments of our up-and-coming young professionals and recognizes organizations that excel in their efforts to attract, retain and develop young professionals in the Wichita community.

Award finalists are first nominated and then submit an application to be considered for the awards. For the 2018 YPW Founders’ Day Awards, all YPW members as of Sunday, April 1, 2018 will be eligible for nomination for the individual awards.

Nominate someone today!

YPW Commitment Award

Awarded to the YPW member who attended the most official YPW events for the previous year.

Past Winners

  • 2017: Teddy Farias, Wichita Area Technical College
  • 2016: Tracy Anderson, Adams Brown Beran and Ball
  • 2015: Cory Theobald, Textron Aviation
  • 2014: Sundee Dunn, High Touch Technologies
  • 2013: Nate Hinkel, Kansas Department of Aviation
  • 2012: Laura Bernstorf, Airbus Americas Engineering, Inc.
  • 2011: Tara Clary, Davis-Moore Auto Group

Corporate Investor of the Year

Presented to a YPW corporate investor that has shown continued support for YPW, its programs, and the Wichita community. This award recipient is selected by the YPW Board of Trustees.

Past Winners

  • 2017: Westar Energy
  • 2016: Textron Aviation
  • 2015: Allen, Gibbs & Houlik, L.C.
  • 2014: Emprise Bank
  • 2013: Martin Pringle | Attorneys at Law
  • 2012: Spirit AeroSystems
  • 2011: Fidelity Bank

YP Choice Award

Sponsored by Legacy Bank

Presented to an organization that excels in their efforts to attract, retain and develop young professionals in the Wichita community. This award recipient is selected by YPW members through online voting.

Past Winners

  • 2017: Wichita Community Foundation (Small Company); Professional Engineering Consultants (Large Company)
  • 2016: Wichita Art Museum Contemporaries (Small Company); Legacy Bank (Large Company)
  • 2015: Jajo, Inc. (Small Company); Via Christi Health (Large Company)
  • 2014: Schaefer Johnson Cox Frey Architecture (Small Company); High Touch Technologies (Large Company)
  • 2013: Ernst & Young, Wichita (Small Company); Emprise Bank (Large Company)
  • 2012: Koch Industries
  • 2011: Martin | Pringle Attorneys at Law

Distinguished Young Professional Award

Sponsored by Wesley Medical Center

Presented to two YPW members who have reached personal and/or professional achievements in their career, has positively impacted our community, and shows promise for continued success.

Past Winners

  • 2017: Amanda Brown, Cargill Protein Group; Keith Marshall, Kansas Air National Guard
  • 2016: Josef Hamilton, High Touch Technologies; Jonathan Long, T-Mobile
  • 2015: David Hoffenberg, Wesley Medical Center; Jaimie Zellner, Wichita Downtown Development Corp.
  • 2014: Christina House, Airbus Americas Engineering; David Friedberg, Allen, Gibbs & Houlik
  • 2013: Ilex Gelpi, Koch Industries; Chris Hurst, Cessna Aircraft Company
  • 2012: Cassandra Schwartz, Apples & Arrows; Todd Ramsey, Apples & Arrows
  • 2011: Kim Doze-Lohman, Martin | Pringle Attorneys at Law; Bobby Gandu, Wichita State University

Innovations in Business Award

Sponsored by Martin | Pringle Attorneys at Law

Presented to a YPW Member who has demonstrated innovation in their industry, company or organization by: making a unique or especially noteworthy contribution to their business or profession; reinvigorating or modernizing a business; or successfully starting their own business. Special consideration will be given to those nominated for contributions that are designed to attract and retain young talent to Wichita in some way or provide a service uniquely designed to appeal to YPs.

Past Winners

  • 2017: Jennifer McDonald, Jenny Dawn Cellars and CCH, a Wolters Kluwer Company
  • 2016: Chris Clark, Clarkitecture
  • 2015: Courtney Bengtson, Wichita Community Foundation
  • 2014: Chad Glenn, 3Ten Studio
  • 2013: Cassandra Bryan, cb{d}
  • 2012: Tara Clary, Davis-Moore Auto Group
  • 2011: Ivan Moore, Unified Party Bus

Community Service Award

Presented to a YPW member who is distinguished by their record of service to their community. They have engaged in continuing efforts to preserve and promote Wichita through their time, service, and talents.

Past Winners

  • 2017: Jason Carlson, Meritrust Credit Union
  • 2016: Jade Martin, Klenda Austerman
  • 2015: Ebony Clemons, Westar Energy
  • 2014: Amber Hendrix, Girl Scouts of America Heartland
  • 2013: Sam Foreman, Klenda Austerman, LLC
  • 2012: Sommer Keplar, Via Christi Health
  • 2011: Suzy Finn, Lytton’s Appliance Showroom

Welcome to W

Same mission. New name. Young Professionals of Wichita (YPW) is now W. Join us as we move forward into our next chapter of building tomorrow’s leaders today.